Nezařazené

MOOC: Week 7

This week was really similar to the last one – lots of reviewing and little new information.
This week was focused on analyzing data from an interview.

male putting sticky notes on wall
Zdroj: Unsplash Startaê Team

It was interesting to see a different approach – we learned, that you should transcript your recording and work with it as a written document. However, in this lesson, it was suggested we should only listen to the recording and write down our notes and do our coding this way. It was kind of strange to me! But I had to say it is not that time-consuming. However, I still think I would like to write down the interview, especially in the case of something important, this way it feels more through. But maybe I would use this method for something less formal.
Notes were written on the post-it notes again and we were encouraged to arrange them again, write connection, etc. Apparently, this is called the affinity wall method. This method was something I liked and I can see myself using it in the future. I usually just write down points on the paper, but this way you can see connections, etc. better, you can make hierarchy easily, and so on.
This part was the most beneficial one of the whole lesson.
The last step focused on writing a report from our research, some examples were given – how to pinpoint important parts, stay clear in what you want to say, be direct…


Overall I enjoyed this lesson more than previous ones, but overall I was hoping for something else. More on that topic in my next post, where I´m going to focus on the course as a whole.

MOOC

MOOC week 5 & 6:

I decided to write about these two weeks in one article because week 5 was really short and the themes of booth weeks were really similar –It was about interviews.

woman sitting on armless chair with light between bookcases in room
Source: Unsplash Sam McGhee


How to prepare for an interview, what to bring with you, how to ask etc.
Special part was dedicated to note-taking, how we should take them all the time because when we do it only sometimes, we stop, and people (who are interviewed) are interrupted and dispersed. It was told that is better to use a notebook rather than a computer because a computer screen creates a barrier. It was suggested we record our interviews rather than just trying to remember everything (or read it in our notes), some technical tools were mentioned (recording devices, etc).
Honestly, I found this lection really boring – we already learned all this information in school! And on top of that, some information was partly wrong in my opinion, for example, there was little to no information about informed consent, which is a really important part for someone who never carried out the research.
We were encouraged to realize our own interview (even with a friend, only to try it), this was most time-consuming part of this lection, that is something kind of problematic in these days. Usually, I would organize something at my workplace – in the library, but nowadays this is not possible, so I asked my friend (who visit our library) and we organized a little session online.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t really beneficial for me, I already did interviews in the past (mostly personally, from eye to eye, but also online) and I am sorry to say so, but I gained little new knowledge in this lecture.